County Commissioner


109 W. First St., Portales, NM 88130
P: 575.356.5307
F: 575.356.8307

District I

Dennis Lopez (2nd Term) Term Ends: 12/31/2024  

1000 E 1st Street Portales, NM 88130

Cell: 575-799-3548; 


District II


Rodney Savage (1st Term) Term Ends: 12/31/2024

325 SRR P Portales, NM 88130

Cell: 575-799-7775; 


District III

Roy Lee Criswell (1st Term) Term Ends: 12/31/2026

2750 SRR V Pep, NM 88126

Cell: 575-914-5755;


District IV 

Tina Dixon (2nd Term) Term Ends: 12/31/2026

606 Texico Elida, NM 88116

Cell: 575-607-6157;


District V

Paul Grider (2nd Term) Term Ends: 12/31/2026

900 SRR AV Melrose, NM 88124

Cell: 575-760-1566;

Members are elected to the Board of County Commissioners for four-year terms, and must live in the district they represent. Roosevelt County has five commissioners. The Board of County Commissioners has the power to adopt the County’s budget, to levy County taxes, and to enact ordinances. It is charged with examining and settling all accounts of receipts and expenses and for providing for the issuance of bond financing for necessary public buildings, roads, bridges, and hospitals. The Board also carries out planning and zoning, and health and safety functions. They may enter into a joint powers agreement with other counties or municipalities to provide common necessary services. Finally, the Board has significant appointive, administrative and regulatory powers. The Board selects, appoints and re-appoints members to many different commissions and boards that work on specific county issues on behalf of the County’s departments. The Board members do not appoint but rather constitute the county canvassing board, the entity charged with post-election duties of tallying the votes and ensuring the integrity of each election. 

Commission Meeting Schedule:


2023 Meetings

January 10, 2023

February 7, 2023

February 21, 2023

March 7, 2023

March 21, 2023             

April 4, 2023               

April 18, 2023

May 2, 2023             

May 23, 2023

June 20, 2023               

July 11, 2023

July 25, 2023 

August 15, 2023

September 5, 2023

September 19, 2023

October 3, 2023

October 17, 2023

November 14, 2023     

December 5, 2023       

December 19, 2023

*Special Meeting

Commission Workshops

Budget Workshops: 

TBD April/May

Fleet Workshop: Dec. 5, 2022

Road Workshop: Feb. 17, 2023


Commission meetings are generally held on the first and third Tuesday of each month, however, some months will be adjusted as necessary to avoid conflicts. The calendar of meetings and holidays is approved by the Commission by the final meeting of the year, for the coming year.