109 W 1st Street
Lobby Box 3
Portales, NM 88130



Monday- Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

8 a.m. to 12:00 pm on the last working day of the month.


Layle Sanchez

County Treasurer


Victoria Ramos

Chief Deputy Treasurer

The Roosevelt County Treasurer’s Office mission is to faithfully execute the duties of the County Treasurer’s Office in compliance with all state statutes and all New Mexico State Taxation and Revenue Department/Property Tax Division rules and regulations.

  • To provide the taxpayers of Roosevelt County with prompt, professional and courteous service, and answer any questions relating to their property taxes.
  • To safely deposit all monies and invest idle monies prudently.
  • To be accountable to taxpayers and other taxing entities in the county.


Bills for the 2022 tax year were sent out October 20, 2022.

First Half payment due November 10, 2022 (Past due after December 12, 2022 Penalty and Interest will be added.)

Second Half payment due April 10, 2023 (Past due after May 10, 2022 Penalty and Interest will be added)

Mail postmarked by December 12, 2022 for first half  or whole payment and May 10, 2023 for second half payment will be accepted.

We also have a drop box located in the Northeast side of the courthouse parking lot that we check several time a day, checks, money orders, NO CASH.