109 W 1st Street Portales, NM 88130 575.356.5307 575.356.8307(fax)DSC_7754WPaul Grider
District Vg creightonGene CreightonVice ChairmanDistrict IV


Dennis Lopez
District I


Matthew Hunton
District II

Shane Lee
District III


The members are elected to the board of county commissioners for four year terms, and must live in the district they represent. Roosevelt county has five commissioners. The board of county commissioners has the power to adopt the county’s budget, to levy county taxes, and to enact ordinances. It is charged with examining and settling all accounts of receipts and expenses and for providing for the issuance of bond financing for necessary public buildings, roads, bridges, airports, utilities, hospitals, and libraries. The board also carries out planning and zoning, and health and safety functions. They may enter into a joint powers agreement with other counties or municipalities to provide common necessary services. Finally, the board has significant appointive, administrative and regulatory powers. The board selects, appoints and re-appoints members to many different commissions and boards that work on specific county issues on behalf of the county’s departments. The board members do not appoint but rather constitute the county canvassing board, the entity charged with post-election duties of tallying the votes and ensuring the integrity of each election.

District I

District II

Dennis Lopez (1st Term) Matthew Hunton (1st Term)
1000 E 1st 526C SRR P
Portales, NM 88130 Portales, NM 88130
Cell: 575-799-3548 Cell:575-607-5934
Home: none Home: none
 Term Ends: 12/31/2020  Term Ends: 12/31/2020

District III

District IV

Shane Lee (1st Term) Gene Creighton (1st Term)
1736 SRR 10 1/2  1724 SRR AN
Portales NM 88130 Elida, NM 88116
Home: none Home: 575-274-6363
Cell:   575-420-8842 Cell:   575-760-4256
 Term Ends: 12/31/2018  Term Ends: 12/31/2018

District V

Paul Grider (1st Term)
900 SRR AV
Melrose, NM  88124  
Home:  575-253-4561  

Cell:  575-760-1566

Term Ends: 12/31/2018

Calendar of Commission meetings:

Commission meetings are generally held on the first and third Tuesday of each month, however, some months will be adjusted as necessary to avoid conflicts. The calendar of meetings and holidays is approved by the Commission by the final meeting of the year, for the following year.
Click here for the 2017 Roosevelt County Calendar. The Roosevelt County Board of County Commissioners will meet as follows:

Jan. 10, 2017

Feb. 7, 2017          Feb. 21, 2017     *Feb. 28, 2017 Special Meeting

March 7, 2017      March 21, 2017

April 4, 2017        April 18, 2017

May 2, 2017         May 16, 2017

June 6, 2017      June 20, 2017

July 18, 2017      *July 27, 2017 Special Meeting

Aug. 15, 2017

Sept. 5, 2017       Sept. 19, 2017

Oct. 3, 2017        Oct. 17, 2017

Nov. 7, 2017       Nov. 21, 2017

Dec. 5, 2017       Dec. 19, 2017

Commission Budget Workshops


Commission Room, First Floor, Roosevelt County Court House