# PRIMARY ELECTION PROCLAMATION

Pursuant to the Primary Election Law, NMSA 1978, Sections 1-8-10 to -52 (1969, as amended through 2015), and the Presidential Primary Act, NMSA 1978, Sections 1-15A-1 to -11 (1977, as amended through 2011), I, Susana Martinez, Governor of the State of New Mexico, by virtue of the authority vested in me, do hereby issue the following proclamation:

That a Primary Election is called to be held throughout the State of New Mexico and in each county and precinct thereof on June 7, 2016;

That a Primary Election shall be applicable to the following political parties: the Democratic Party and the Republican Party; and

That the Primary Election shall be for the purpose of permitting the Democratic Party and the Republican Party to nominate candidates for the following offices:

#### FEDERAL OFFICES

## TWO UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVES

**District 2**: Bernalillo county precinct 93; Catron county; Chaves county; Cibola county; De Baca county; Dona Ana county; Eddy county; Grant county; Guadalupe county; Hidalgo county; Lea county; Lincoln county; Luna county; McKinley county precincts 26, 27, 29, and 30; Otero county; Roosevelt county precincts 3 through 6, 10, 11, 19 and all of 2, except for Census tabulation block 350410002001111; Sierra county; Socorro county; and Valencia county precincts 1 through 5, 7 through 15, 17 through 21, 23 through 27, 29 through 35, 37 through 41 and all of 36, except for Census tabulation block 350611973031019, as defined in the Judgment and Final Order (Congressional Trial) issued in the matter of Egolf, et al. v. Duran, et al., First Judicial District Court, Cause No. D-101-CV-2011-02942 (consolidated).

**District 3**: Bernalillo county precincts 1, 80, 84, 85, 115, 117, 118 and 127 through 129; Colfax county; Curry county; Harding county; Los Alamos county; McKinley county precincts 1 through 25, 28, 31 through 50, and 52 through 59; Mora county; Quay county; Rio Arriba county; Roosevelt county precincts 1, 7 through 9, 12, 13, 15, 17, 18, 21, and Census tabulation block 350410002001111 in 2; San Juan county; San Miguel county; Sandoval county precincts 6 through 27, 30 through 37, 39 through 51, 53, 54,

TWO-YEAR TERM

TWO-YEAR TERM

58 through 63, 65 through 73, 75, and 78 through 86; Santa Fe county precincts 1 through 14, 16 through 72, 74 through 83, and 85 through 88; Taos county; and Union county, as defined in the Judgment and Final Order (Congressional Trial) issued in the matter of *Egolf, et al. v. Duran, et al.*, First Judicial District Court, Cause No. D-101-CV-2011-02942 (consolidated).

# STATE, DISTRICT, AND METROPOLITAN OFFICES

ONE SECRETARY OF STATE
ONE JUSTICE OF THE SUPREME COURT
ONE JUDGE OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

TO FILL UNEXPIRED TERM TO FILL UNEXPIRED TERM TO FILL UNEXPIRED TERM

## ONE MEMBER OF THE STATE SENATE

**District 27**, as defined in the Judgment and Final Order (State Senate Trial) issued in the matter of *Egolf*, *et al.* v. *Duran*, *et al.*, First Judicial District Court, Cause No. D-101-CV-2011-02942 (consolidated).

**FOUR-YEAR TERM** 

## THREE MEMBERS OF THE STATE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

**Districts 63, 66 and 67**, as defined in the Judgment and Final Order (State House of Representatives Trial) issued in the matter of *Egolf, et al. v. Duran, et al.*, First Judicial District Court, Cause No. D-101-CV-2011-02942 (consolidated).

TWO-YEAR TERM

#### ONE MEMBER OF THE PUBLIC EDUCATION COMMISSION

**District 9**: composed of Chaves county precinct 104; Curry county; Eddy county; Harding county; Lea county; Quay county; Roosevelt county; and Union county, as enumerated in NMSA 1978, Section 22-3A-14.

**FOUR-YEAR TERM** 

# ONE JUDICIAL DISTRICT JUDGE

9<sup>th</sup> Judicial District, Division 1

TO FILL UNEXPIRED TERM

# **ONE DISTRICT ATTORNEY**

District 9

FOUR-YEAR TERM

## **COUNTY OFFICES**

## **ROOSEVELT COUNTY**

THREE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

District 1
District 2
District 5
ONE COUNTY CLERK
ONE COUNTY TREASURER
ONE PROBATE JUDGE

FOUR-YEAR TERM FOUR-YEAR TERM TO FILL UNEXPIRED TERM FOUR-YEAR TERM FOUR-YEAR TERM FOUR-YEAR TERM

Declarations of candidacy by pre-primary convention designation and nominating petitions for the office of United States Representative, Secretary of State, one justice of the Supreme Court, and one judge of the Court of Appeals shall be filed with the Secretary of State on Tuesday, February 2, 2016, between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.

Declarations of candidacy and nominating petitions for state representatives and state senators in multi-county legislative districts, district judges, district attorneys, public regulation commissioners, and public education commissioners shall be filed with the Secretary of State on Tuesday, March 8, 2016, between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.

Declarations of candidacy and filing fees or, in lieu thereof, pauper statements for Roosevelt County probate judge and all other elective county offices shall be filed with the Roosevelt County Clerk on Tuesday, March 8, 2016, between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.

Declarations of candidacy and nominating petitions for candidates who seek, but fail to receive pre-primary convention designation for a statewide office or the office of United States representative shall be filed with the Secretary of State either ten days following the date of the pre-primary convention or on Tuesday, March 8, 2016, whichever is later, between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.

Declarations of intent to be a write-in candidate for the offices of United States representative, members of the legislature representing multi-county districts, district judges, district attorneys, public regulation commissioners, public education commissioners, and statewide offices shall be filed with the Secretary of State on Tuesday, March 15, 2016, between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.

No state convention for designating Primary Election candidates shall be held later than Sunday, March 13, 2016.

Certificates of Designation of Primary Election candidates shall be submitted by political parties to the Secretary of State no later than the first Tuesday succeeding the state convention between the hours of 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.

The Presidential Primary Election shall be held on the same date as the Primary Election in the State of New Mexico, June 7, 2016.

The Presidential Primary Election shall be conducted and canvassed along with and in the manner provided by law for the conduct and canvassing of the Primary Election.

DONE AT THE EXECUTIVE OFFICE THIS 26<sup>th</sup> DAY OF JANUARY 2016

ATTEST:

WITNESS MY HAND AND THE GREAT SEAL OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO

BRAD WINTER SECRETARY OF STATE

SUSANA MARTINEZ GOVERNOR